Student Assessment/Testing

To examine particular demographic, school and testing data for each district, visit
To review North Carolina Testing Program Required Testing, visit the Accountability section of NCDPI.
WCPS Testing Calendar is available online for parents: 2017-18

Here are the "big" state-required accountability tests that students have to take: 
•  End-of-grade tests in grades 3-8 in reading and math  (EOG)
•  Science tests in grades 5 and 8 
•  End-of-course tests in Biology, Algebra I and English II  (EOC)
•  ACT college admissions test for all high school juniors
Students enrolled in kindergarten through 2nd grade are given reading assessments every nine weeks. Each assessment takes less than 10 minutes and involves a student reading directly to a teacher. Students may not even realize they are being assessed.
Students in grades 3 through 8 in North Carolina's public schools spend approximately 10 hours out of 1,025 instructional hours per year taking state end-of-grade tests.
At the high school level, students take a final exam for each course they are taking. So, if a student takes eight courses a year, they would take eight final exams. Among these end-of-course tests, there are three required assessments developed at the state level: Biology, Algebra I (if the student did not take Algebra I in middle school), and English II. These end-of-course tests are final exams in the course. Typically, students take these courses at the 9th and 10th grade.  The proficiency rates on these tests are used as a part of the General Assembly's A-F Accountability System. Also, the ACT is given to all juniors to help us see how many students are prepared for college or community college work. Students can use their scores on admissions applications, by the way, at no charge to them.

Glossary of Tests 

End-of-Grade (EOG) Testing

Elementary students begin state testing, or "End-of-Grade" (EOG) in Grade 3. EOG testing continues through all grade levels of middle school. The EOG test includes a mathematics and an English/Language Arts (ELA) portion at each grade level. A science section is included in grades 5 and 8.
Writing Assessment
Students must perform state writing assessments throughout the year in the following grade levels: 4th, 7th and 10th grades.
End-of-Course (EOC) Testing
High school students take end-of-course (EOC) tests for those courses the state has designed assessments. EOC tests are currently required in English II, Algebra I, and Biology.
VOCATS Testing
High school students take VOCATS tests for vocational courses, as designated by the state. For more information, contact the Career Development Coordinator (CDC) at your child's high school.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.