Enrolling Your Child

Special Note: Per Board of Education Policy 4310: High School students requesting reassignment to a Wayne County High School from another county will not be eligible for Drivers Education until they have been enrolled and attended the Wayne County Public Schools for two complete semesters.

Before your child can enter a WCPS school, you must meet the requirements listed below. Feel free to print forms from the links below, or you can also pick up an enrollment packet at your child's new school.
  • Some forms, documents, or links may require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader .

  • Programs and services may vary by school. For information about specific programs and services, please see the school's individual website.

  • High school registration catalogs are available online under the "Students" tab.

AGE REQUIREMENT:
Children entering kindergarten must be 5 years old on or before August 31st. The age requirement is state law. More information

ENROLLMENT:
North Carolina state law requires that the child be enrolled by a legal parent or legal guardian only. Family members, relatives, or friends may not serve as the enrollment agent.

PROOF OF RESIDENCE:
The enrollment process requires proof of residence. To enroll you must present two (2) sources of documentation such as utility bills, tax bills, deed of trust, rent receipt, or any document which clearly proves current resident status. Military families living on base may present a letter from base housing as proof of residence. Children are enrolled in the school district in which they live, and school assignments are made by the local school system.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS (English):
The Student Registration form is available to download by clicking the link below. You can print the blank form and hand-print your answers or you can use Microsoft Word to complete the form using your computer. Our electronic registration form can be used to complete and submit the registration form online.
DOCUMENTOS NECESARIOS (Español)
  • Evaluación de Salud para Kindergarten (Kindergarten Health Assessment)
  • Encuesta de Idioma (Home Language Survey) 
OTHER DOCUMENTS:
IMMUNIZATION:
For current immunization requirements, click here .
To enroll in school, a child needs proof of immunization against:
  • Diphtheria

  • HIB (Haemophilus Influenzae)

  • Diphtheria

  • Hepatitis B

  • Varcella

  • Tetanus

  • Whooping Cough

  • Polio

  • Mumps

  • Red Measles

  • German Measles

Certain exemptions are possible for extenuating health or religious reasons. All students need proof of a current physical examination when enrolling in North Carolina schools for the first time.

SCHOOL YEAR
The General Assembly requires a minimum of 180 instructional days for students and a minimum of 1,000 hours of instruction covering at least nine calendar months. North Carolina law requires that the first day of school must be on or after August 25th and the last day of school must be on or before June 10th. It is a local decision, not the state's, to determine the length of the school day and the school year. Instructional days may be scheduled for any day except Sunday.

Transfer of Organizational Memberships
To facilitate the process of transferring student organizational memberships to Wayne County Public Schools, please bring a letter of reference. The letter should include your current membership status and any other details necessary to expedite your membership transfer.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.